cdramaqueen

unpopular me, unpopular opinions


Categories:

Yay, another popular drama! It will either be so good that I’d want to do a happy dance or so bad that I’d want to jump out a window. Let’s hope for the former…

  1. The Starry Love Synopsis
  2. The Positive
    1. Sisters For The Win!
    2. 2023 Is The Year Of Side Characters
    3. Anti-Cliche Scenes
  3. The Negative
    1. Fire The Director… Or Whoever’s Responsible
    2. I Didn’t Know There Was A Child Involved!
  4. The Mediocre
    1. Hahaha… I’m Totally Rolling On The Ground
    2. Give Me A Paintbrush!
    3. Does Chemistry Even Exist in Heaven?
  5. Conclusion

The Starry Love Synopsis

In the human realm, there are two twin princesses. One was born with an auspicious sign, leading her to become the crown princess, and the other was born with an evil sign, causing her to be shunned. The older sister Qingkui, who is gentle and kind, gets betrothed to the heavenly prince (Chen Xingxu). The younger sister, Yetan (Li Landi), who is smart and cunning, is betrothed to the demon prince. Due to a mix-up, the two sisters marry off to the wrong husbands (kinda like Wrong Carriage, Right Groom Xianxia edition). This also paves the way for future conflicts and (of course) romance!

The Starry Love (星落凝成糖) was one of the hottest shows this year and me being extremely easy to sway, I decided to watch it. After approximately seven episodes, I have very mixed feelings. Below, I will share with you what I loved, disliked, and didn’t care for (spoiler free!).

The Positive

Sisters For The Win!

It is so refreshing to find a pair of sisters that genuinely care for each other! Qingkui doesn’t feel entitled and Yetan doesn’t feel salty about their differences in treatment. Although they represent opposites, they treat each other very well and are constantly putting their sister in front of themselves. And something (maybe it’s hopeful thinking) tells me that this pair will not turn against each other!

2023 Is The Year Of Side Characters

The scheming underdog and the elegant princess? The big bad wolf and the innocent little bunny? Count me in! The set-up, the acting, the chemistry, and just about everything else regarding the second couple just suits my taste perfectly.

Anti-Cliche Scenes

By “anti-cliche scenes” I mean that there is a spin on scenes that you see in so many dramas. The most prominent example in my head currently is the scene where Yetan gets drugged with an aphrodisiac. Instead of the classical we-end-up-in-close-proximity-and-stare-at-each-other-for-five-minutes, the male lead, Shaodian, manages this situation by transforming the girl into a walnut. I must applaud The Starry Love for this one; I was pleasantly surprised.

The Negative

Fire The Director… Or Whoever’s Responsible

I have motion sickness, ya know. I cannot appreciate the camera spinning at all times. It makes me feel like I’m inside my laundry machine…

If that was the only problem, I would not be so triggered. The problem is that it’s not! The director loves to shine light out of nowhere, completely disregarding logic. For example, during kiss scenes, a blinding light will shine through the actors’ faces, completely obscuring their faces. Seriously… why?

He also seems to love unusual camera angles, causing the poor actors to end up with the worst possible shots. Like shooting people from their nostrils…

I Didn’t Know There Was A Child Involved!

Yetan is the main character of this drama and is supposed to be a character that you would feel sorry for. Having been ignored and mistreated by her father, she is rebellious and wants power so she would never be harmed again. A very touching character!

However, somewhere along the drama, her character starts to become ignorant, annoying, childish, and greedy. She tries to solve problems only to cause more, she throws tantrums, and she seems superficial at times. Some might argue that this is necessary for her character, but I’m skeptical. If you were mistreated, wouldn’t that teach you to keep a low profile, to be scheming, and to be logical when trying to achieve a goal?

The Mediocre

Hahaha… I’m Totally Rolling On The Ground

Ah, yes… Another unpopular opinion. This drama would be perfect for someone who prefers a comedy driven drama, especially if they enjoy campy comedy. But personally, I prefer dramas where there is unexpected comedy sprinkled throughout the show and the humor here just felt too deliberate.

Give Me A Paintbrush!

I know a lot of people don’t care for the aesthetic of a drama but for those who do, beware. The entire Heavenly Realm of The Starry Love looks as if the immortal kingdom is preparing for a funeral. Just white everywhere!

OK… it’s not all white, but it’s quite bland.

Does Chemistry Even Exist in Heaven?

I desperately wanted to fall head over heels for the main couple but unfortunately, their connection just wasn’t powerful… Even the sisters had stronger chemistry.

Conclusion

Although this drama does not seem like my cup of tea, it has the potential to be an amazing watch. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who loves comedy and is tired of the recycled plots of the Xianxia genre. Thanks for reading and I would love to know your opinions on The Starry Love!



Subscribe for more content!


Leave a comment

Discover more from cdramaqueen

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started